hu en
2023. Február 22. 17:30  -  David Rechnitzer
Mátyás Katona: "As a child, there was no question that I would choose football"

Our new signing grew up in a family with seven children, he and his younger brother, who also plays in the NB I, talk a lot about football and is also studying at university.  Our Introductory interview with Mátyás Katona.

You made your debut for our team against Puskás Akadémia at home, coming on in the 82nd minute of Saturday's match. How did you first feel in the red and blue?

Of course I was happy to get the chance to play, I'm working to get as many chances as possible in the future and help the team. As for the game, we were disappointed after the break, we needed the three points and we had chances to win the game, so I was disappointed.

When did you realise that football could be more than a hobby in your life?

I grew up in a big family, there are four of us brothers and sisters, we all love playing football, we played a lot amongst ourselves, so from that point of view, maybe it was out of the question as a kid that I would choose football. I always felt comfortable in this environment, but I always hoped to play football at a professional level, which was the first time I had the opportunity to do so in Újpest. I feel that I have improved a lot since then and I would like to continue this process at Vidi.

Did your parents also inspire you to become a sportsman?

They played sports, my grandparents did too. Not on a professional level, but they still love sport.

Your brother Bálint also plays in the NB I, for Kecskemét. How typical is it that you talk about the matches after each round?

We talk a lot about football, I think it's a big advantage that we can always help each other and discuss our experiences. I'm the older of the two of us, so I try to help him, and we'd love to play together in a team one day. There was a time in the youth team when we both played for Vasas, but because we are three years apart, we didn't have the chance to train together.

How close are the other two Katona boys to football?

My other brother is currently playing for Újpest in the U15 team, so he could become a professional player. My brother also plays football nowadays, but not at professional level.

Is the 2021 cup win for Újpest the biggest success of your career so far?

Yes, it was a very nice success. We also won the U13 championship, but of course it can't be compared to our adult success. At the time, just over a year and a half ago, I never thought I would play for Vidi.

Do you set yourself specific goals?

I don't think in long term goals, rather in six-month periods. Right now I want to integrate into the team and score goals and assists.

How much is the desire to play for the national team on your mind?

Like most players, I have this big dream of being a national team player one day, but it's a performance that can bring that, so that's what I'm focusing on.

Are there any foreign leagues that are particularly close to your heart?

As a spectator, the Premier League is my favourite, but I like all the top leagues and watch them a lot, but I'm the same with the Hungarian league.

Do you have a favourite team or player?

I used to cheer for Bayern Munich as a kid, I would say less so nowadays, I prefer Leicester City from the Premier League. My favourite player has always been Lionel Messi, apart from him I also really like the play of Martin Odegaard, James Maddison, Kevin de Bruyne and Jack Grealish.

How often do you sit down in front of the TV to watch a match?

When I wasn't playing in the NB I, I mainly watched foreign matches, but also Hungarian championships. Nowadays, if we play on a Saturday, I often watch a match on Sunday.

What are your hobbies besides football?

There are seven of us brothers and sisters in total, so it's always nice to go home and see the family, but I also like to spend time with my friends, my girlfriend and my dog. I'm also studying at university at the Budapest University of Technology, majoring in economics and management, so I have to keep busy with that too. Besides that, my brothers and I also go paddle boarding and playing paddle tennis.

With university, are you consciously trying to prepare for life after football?

That's part of it, I was lucky in the sense that I went to a strong high school and everyone in the class continued their studies after graduation, I did the same and once I started I would like to finish. Besides that, I'm interested in what I'm studying.

Is there a story behind your choice of shirt number?

I played in the number 27 in Újpest, which I would have liked to continue, but it was already taken. Before me, Kevin Csoboth was 77 at Vidi, I had a good relationship with him at Újpest and he encouraged me to choose it and my family supported 77, so I chose it.

MOL Fehérvár FC - Minden jog fenntartva
A webhely cookie-k segítségével nyújtja a szolgáltatásokat, szabja személyre a hirdetéseket és elemzi a forgalmat. Emellett a felhasználási adatokhoz a Google is hozzáférhet. A webhely használatával elfogadja a cookie-k használatát. További részletek